Minutes of ANTWERP LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

**REGULAR** Meeting

Held May 18, 2023

The Antwerp Local School District Board of Education met at 6:00 P.M. at the above date for their May meeting at the Antwerp Local School Board Room.

- 1. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by the Board Members.
- 2. Call to order
- **3. Roll Call of Members:** Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette.
- 4. Acknowledgement of visitors and guests:

Others Present: Dr. Martin Miller (Superintendent), Kristine Stuart (Treasurer), Tracey Stokes (Elementary Principal), and Harold Gottke (IT Director). Guests include: Tim Reynolds (Crescent News Reporter), and Government Student; Taylor Morales.

### 5. APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion by Robert Herber and seconded by Sara Schuette, to approve the agenda with any additions or changes as presented. Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0.

### **6. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

Motion by Jayme Landers and seconded by Anita Bok, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting of April 19, 2023. Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0.

- 7. LIAISON REPORT: None
- **8. VANTAGE BOARD REPORT:** Mr. Dennis Recker reported that the Vantage meeting was held on May 4, 2023. He reported that the spec house, built by Vantage students is almost finished and will be going up for sale next month. Senior awards will be held next week and the last day for students is Thursday, May 25<sup>th</sup>. He also noted that Vantage is expanding the CDL Program, adding more classes and grant funding opportunities for the adult education classes.

#### 9. TREASURER'S REPORT:

- a. Review of Accounts Payable
- b. Acceptance of Treasurer's Report

Motion by Anita Bok and seconded by Jayme Landers, that the Board accept the Treasurer's Report as presented. Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0.

Minutes of ANTWERP LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

**REGULAR** Meeting

Held\_\_\_\_\_\_ May 18, 2023

### 10. PRINCIPAL'S REPORT:

Mr. Lichty - Middle/High School Principal – Report given my Dr. Martin Miller

- a. Academic Update
- b. Extracurricular Update
- c. Thank You's and Mentions
- d. Upcoming Items

Mrs. Tracey Stokes - Elementary School Principal

- a. End of Year Activities
- b. April Students of the Month
- c. Student Handbook 2023-2024
- d. Summer School Teachers

#### 11. SUPERINTENDENT ITEMS:

- a. Staffing Update
- b. Building and Grounds Update
- c. Technology Update
- d. Curriculum/Technology Integration Update
- e. Enrollment numbers for 2022-23 school year
- f. Summer School Programs
- g. Annual Review of Wellness Policy
- h. Staff Appreciation Luncheon
- i. Communications
- i New Policy for Approval: 5223

#### 12. CONSENT ITEMS:

- a. Approve the Western Buckeye Educational Service Center Substitute list for the current month and provide reasonable assurance that all active members on the list have a position as a Substitute Teacher on an as-needed basis with the Antwerp Local School District.
- b. Approve the following Supplemental Contracts for the 2023-2024 school year:
  - 1. Sam Smith Audio/Visual Manager
  - 2. Andrea Newell Marching Band Director
  - 3. Andrea Newell Elementary Music Programs (grades TBD)
  - 4. Mary Smith Elementary Music Programs (grades TBD)
  - 5. Mary Smith Show Choir
  - 6. Mary Smith Middle School/High School Choir Concerts
  - 7. Kayla Bagley Public Relations Coordinator
  - 8. Harlee Walk Assistant Cross-Country Coach
  - 9. Emily Gerschutz Freshman Volleyball Coach
  - 10. Madeline Reinhart JH Volleyball Coach 8th Grade
  - 11. Abbie English JH Volleyball Coach 7th Grade

Minutes of ANTWERP LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

**REGULAR** Meeting

Held\_\_\_\_\_\_ May 18, 2023

- c. Approve the following Summer School Teachers at a rate of \$25.00 per hour payable by timesheet:
  - 1. Susie Arnold
  - 2. Mary Lillemon
  - 3. Jacob Miller
  - 4. Kevin Snyder
- d. Approve the following STS student workers for the 2023-2024 school year at a rate of \$9.50 per hour.
  - 1. Keira Spyker
- e. Approve the Substitute Teacher pay rate at \$100 per day for the 2023-2024 school year.
- f. Approve an overnight trip for the High School Girls Basketball Team to Indiana University in Bloomington, IN, on June 22-24, 2023, to be supervised by Coach Scott McMichael.
- g. Approve an overnight trip for the High School Boys Basketball Team to the Midwest Live Showcase Shootout at Cedar Point Sports Center in Sandusky, OH, on June 23-24, 2023, to be supervised by Coach Doug Billman.
- h. Approve the Elementary Student Handbook for the 2023-2024 school year.
- i. Approve NEOLA Policy 5223.
- j. Approve the May 2023 Five-Year Forecast.
- k. Approve Amended Certificate and Revised Appropriations for FY2023.
- 1. Approve the purchase of 7 additional laptops and licenses for the Chromebooks from XTEK Partners for an additional cost of \$14,596.
- m. Approve Kay Grimes as a substitute cafeteria worker.

Motion by Robert Herber and seconded by Dennis Recker, that the Board approve the following consent items (a-m). Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0.

#### 13. EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Motion by Sara Schuette and seconded by Anita Bok to go into executive session at 6:38 p.m. Reason: To consider the employment of a public employee.

Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0.

The board came out of executive session at 7:20 p.m. with no action taken.

Minutes of ANTWERP LOCAL SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR Meeting Held May 18, 2023 14. ADJOURNMENT: Motion by Robert Herber and seconded by Jayme Landers to adjourn the Board meeting at 7:30 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 28, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the Board of Education room. Vote: Yes: Mrs. Anita Bok, Mr. Robert Herber, Mrs. Jayme Landers, Mr. Dennis Recker and Mrs. Sara Schuette. Motion passed: 5-0. **PRESIDENT** TREASURER/CFO